Classis Cephalopoda

Schneider, 1784

Highly specialized marine molluscs divided into two distinctive subclasses, the shelled subclass Nautiloidea and the subclass Coleoidea, in which the shell is reduced and internal or lacking entirely. About 600 species worldwide, typically nektonic or bentho-pelagic, fastmoving, predatory. Foot modified to form grasping arms, intimately associated with the head, which has greatly developed eyes, a marked development of the cerebral ganglia, and a powerful beak.

Source: Hayward, 1990.

The following subtaxa of this class occur in the region:

Order Sepioidea
Subclass Coleoidea
Order Teuthoidea
Suborder Myopsida
Family Loliginidae
Genus Alloteuthis
Alloteuthis media
Alloteuthis subulata
Genus Loligo
Loligo forbesi
Loligo vulgaris
Suborder Oegopsida
Family Brachioteuthidae
Genus Brachioteuthis
Brachioteuthis riisei
Family Cranchiidae
Genus Galiteuthis
Galiteuthis armata
Genus Teuthowenia
Teuthowenia megalops
Family Gonatidae
Genus Gonatus
Gonatus fabricii
Family Ommastrephidae
Genus Illex
Illex coindetii
Genus Ommastrephes
Ommastrephes bartramii
Genus Todarodes
Todarodes sagittatus
Genus Todaropsis
Todaropsis eblanae
Order Octopoda
Suborder Incirrata
Family Octopodidae
Genus Eledone
Eledone cirrhosa
Genus Octopus
Octopus vulgaris
Genus Rissoa
Family Sepiolidae
Genus Rossia
Rossia macrosoma
Rossia palpebrosa
Family Sepiidae
Genus Sepia
Sepia elegans
Sepia officinalis
Genus Sepiella
Sepiella japonica
Genus Sepietta
Sepietta neglecta
Sepietta oweniana
Genus Sepiola
Sepiola atlantica
Sepiola aurantiaca